The Silent Scream

She looked at him with her beautiful brown eyes as he walked into the room. He closed the door and locked it but never for one second taking his eyes of her. She knew what was coming. She bowed her head hoping that today would be different. As he sat next to her on the bed, he started stroking her hair. She lifted up her head, looked at him and screamed PLEASE DON’T, I’M ONLY 6!!! But again just like the past 2 years no sound or words rolled from her lips. Just a silent scream…

This could easily be a scene from a movie. We would all sympathise with the little girl and come up with so many horrible ways to punish the abusher. Lock him up, torture and even death we would wish upon him.

Well unfortunately this is reality! It not a movie, it’s no make believe, it’s a scene that actually happend and to make it worse…I know this little girl, because this little was ME! From the age of 5 until 18, I was sexually abused and raped. This occured under the watchful eye of my family, who ofcourse had no idea what was happening. While they explained to me the dangerous of hanging out with the guys, nobody thought of the danger inside.


They abused me for years. Couldn’t anybody see what they were doing to me? Please look into my eyes!!! Help me!! Deliver me!!! But unfortunately no one heard my silent scream. Why did you think I rebelled so much? Can’t you see that that is the reason I wanted to kill myself? But no one looked beyond my mask, the attitude, no one could see what was happening. Because let’s be honest, we never think that the danger is in our own home, our own family.


My abusers (4 young men) made me believe that their doing was my fault. I was the one who seduced them. WHAT A LIE!!! But I believed them. I lived in fear for many years. If I only knew that I was not to blame. Only knew how to tell my mom, dad or anybody. But I believed their story that they would hurt me even more or my loved ones. But FINALLY one day I had the courage to stand up against them. But still the years of abuse had disformed me, shattered my selfworth and striped me from my dignity. Shame, low-self-esteem, self- hatered, they were like burn marks on my skin.

Now years later that little girl in me, still has the memory but the woman I am today is healed. She survived and is strong. Not afraid how people will look at her after reading this. But it is time to break The Silent Scream!

Somewhere, while you are reading this, a child is being abused. Study shows that 1 out of 3 children is being sexually abused. This is a number that is way to high. We are watching a movie and get angry and want to hurt the abuser, but we fail to see the children in our family or neighbourhood. We watch that movie over and over again, but fail to hear the silent scream in our own family or neigbourhood.

But how? How can we make that silent scream a loud scream? We need to teach our children about their body and that it’s theirs. But how do we do that? I teach my child that NO ONE is to touch her private parts but she. Not even me, mom. What happend to me I wish for no other human being. So I urge you, educate yourself about the signs of sexual abuse and educate your children. But how do we educate our young children? That’s why we need ProjectPuur. 


I saw this vision and of course it touched my heart. That is why this blog is dedicated to ProjectPuur. Mrs. Ogenda Adolphin, has a passion and vision to rise up against sexual abuse. She has written a book about how to teach your child(ren) about sexual abuse. She will give workshops for teachers, children and parents. Let’s support ProjectPuur!!!

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/projectpuur/

Youtube https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=PBCeIbUDO6o

Crowdfunding https://onepercentclub.com/nl/projects/project-puur

So please share this message and create awareness.

Hi my name is Patricia and I am a sexual abuse survivor


#whenessiesmiles


Mocht je vragen hebben of mij willen spreken, mail dan naar het onderstaande emailadres whenessiesmiles@outlook.com

Plaats een reactie